

Report of the Secretary-Treasurer On Nominations to the 2018 – 2020 AMO Board of Directors

June 27, 2018



June 27, 2018

To: Member Municipalities

It is my pleasure to submit a copy of my report on the candidates standing for election for the 2018 – 2020 AMO Board of Directors, as confirmed by the Returning Officer. The Returning Officer has confirmed candidates against the nomination requirements and processes.

Elections will be held on: Monday, August 20, 2018, 12:00 – 5:30 p.m., and Tuesday, August 21, 2018, 8:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

Location: Parliament Foyer, Shaw Centre

All elected officials from member municipalities in good standing with the Association are eligible to vote in the Caucus for which the individual has registered.

Please note that the Heads of the following municipal groups are automatically appointed to the appropriate Caucus of the AMO Board:

- L'Association française des municipalités de l'Ontario (AFMO)
- Eastern Ontario Wardens' Caucus (EOWC)
- Federation of Northern Ontario Municipalities (FONOM)
- Northern Ontario Municipal Association (NOMA)
- Large Urban Mayors' Caucus of Ontario (LUMCO)
- Mayors & Regional Chairs of Ontario of Single Cities and Regions (MARCO)
- Ontario Small Urban Municipalities (OSUM)
- Rural Ontario Municipal Association (ROMA)
- Western Ontario Wardens Caucus (WOWC)

Summary:

- 1. The positions of President and Secretary-Treasurer have been acclaimed.
- 2. Elections of representatives for a two-year term will be held for the following positions, subject to any withdrawals by Candidates:
 - County Caucus (3 elected official positions)
 - Northern Caucus, N.E. (2 elected official positions)
 - Rural Caucus (4 elected official positions)

Respectfully submitted, Trevor Wilcox AMO Secretary-Treasurer General Manager of Corporate Performance, County of Simcoe



President:

Elected Official Nomination for one position – Acclaimed:

Jamie McGarvey, Mayor, Town of Parry Sound

Secretary-Treasurer:

Staff Official Nomination for one position – Acclaimed:

Michelle Smibert, CAO, Municipality of Middlesex Centre

County Caucus:

Elected Officials Nominations for three positions – Election Required:

Aina DeViet, Councillor, County of Middlesex Peter Emon, Councillor, County of Renfrew Gary McNamara, Mayor, Town of Tecumseh Paul McQueen, Councillor, County of Grey

Staff Official Nomination for one position - Vacant

Staff vacancy to be filled by the 2018 – 2020 AMO Board of Directors, as directed by AMO Bylaw No. 2.



Large Urban Caucus:

Elected Officials Nominations for five positions – Acclaimed:

Cathy Downer, Councillor, City of Guelph Chris Friel, Mayor, City of Brantford Chris Holt, Councillor, City of Windsor Anna Hopkins, Councillor, City of London Lou Turco, Councillor, City of Sault Ste. Marie

<u>Staff Official Nomination for one position - Acclaimed:</u>

Neil Garbe, CAO, Town of Richmond Hill

Northern Caucus:

Elected Officials Nominations for two North East Positions - Election Required:

Mac Bain, Councillor, City of North Bay (N.E.) Steve Black, Mayor, City of Timmins (N.E.) Roger Sigouin, Mayor, Town of Hearst (N.E.)

Elected Officials Nominations for two North West Positions – Acclaimed:

Dave Canfield, Mayor, Town of Kenora (N.W.)
Doug Lawrance, Mayor, Municipality of Sioux Lookout (N.W.)

Regional and Single Tier Caucus:

Elected Officials Nominations for six positions - Acclaimed:

Colin Best, Councillor, Region of Halton Riley Brockington, Councillor, City of Ottawa Naomi Davison, Councillor, Region of York Paul Grenier, Councillor, Region of Niagara Gerri Lynn O'Connor, Regional Chair, Region of Durham Allan Thompson, Councillor, Region of Peel



Rural Caucus:

Elected Officials Nominations for four positions – Election Required:

Ronald Holman, Councillor, The United Counties of Leeds and Grenville Robin Jones, Mayor, Village of Westport Bill Vrebosch, Mayor, Municipality of East Ferris Mark Wales, Councillor, Township of Malahide Chris White, Mayor, Township of Guelph/Eramosa

Staff Official Nominations for one position - Acclaimed:

Chris Wray, CAO/Clerk-Treasurer, Municipality of Wawa

Small Urban Caucus:

Elected Official Nominations for four positions – Acclaimed:

Mason Ainsworth, Councillor, City of Orillia Gail Ardiel, Deputy Mayor, Town of The Blue Mountains Bob Kwapis, Councillor, Town of Newmarket John D. Paterson, Mayor, Municipality of Leamington

Staff Official Nomination for one position – Acclaimed:

Larry McCabe, CAO, Town of Goderich