

January 18, 2019

Invitation to Nominate a Conservationist of the Year

Adelaide Metcalfe

2.

Bluewater

Central Huron

Huron East

Lambton Shores

Lucan Biddulph

Middlesex Centre

North Middlesex

Perth South

South Huron

Warwick

West Perth

For 35 years Ausable Bayfield Conservation has honoured a person, farm, business, community group, municipality, or organization with a *Conservationist* of the Year Award. I would like to invite you to consider submitting a nomination for this award to recognize an outstanding community steward(s) who takes positive actions in our watersheds.

A nomination form, with details about the award and past winners, is attached. Nominations are accepted until Friday, February 15, 2019.

The Conservationist of the Year Award will be presented at the Partners Appreciation Evening, to be held on Thursday, March 21, 2019 at Ironwood Golf Club, 70969 Morrison Line, east of Exeter. You and a guest are invited to attend. Please RSVP by March 14, 2019 to Sharon Pavkeje at spavkeje@abca.ca if you would like to attend. More details will be provided closer to the date and posted online at abca.ca.

Each award winner must be located in the Ausable Bayfield Conservation watershed or have done conservation work within the jurisdiction. Past award winners have included rural landowners and residents, agricultural producers and farms, service clubs, community organizations, companies, nature groups, and municipalities.

This award is one way we show our thanks to those who are taking positive actions in our local watershed communities to protect water, soil, and living things. I would like to thank you for your consideration of this opportunity to honour a person, farm, business, group, or organization.

Sincerely,

AUSABLE BAYFIELD CONSERVATION

George Irvin

Chair



Conservationist of the Year Award

What is the Conservationist of the Year Award?

Criteria

usable Bayfield Conservation has recognized outstanding achievements in conservation, each year since 1984, with an award to the Conservationist of the Year.

The Conservation Award acknowledges one individual, farm, business, or group per year who demonstrates positive conservation principles. The nominee must have undertaken conservation efforts over a number of years that have shown long-term benefits for water, soil, and living things. Examples include:

- · Improving local water quality
- Conservation farming
- Reforestation
- Environmental education
- Providing wildlife and fish habitat
- Promoting environmental awareness + action

Eligibility

Individuals, farms, organizations, or companies who either reside in, or have completed conservation work within, the area of jurisdiction of the Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority (ABCA), are eligible to win



the Conservationist of the Year award. Current ABCA staff members and directors are excluded.

Recognition

A usable Bayfield Conservation will make a donation towards a tree and plaque at a Commemorative Woods site maintained by the Ausable Bayfield Conservation Foundation.



Please go to nomination form on the back of this page

Conservationist of the Year award winners in the past:

- Rick Quinn and Diane Hawthorne and Family
- Mels and Ruthanne van der Laan, of Cold Stream Ranch
- Lambton Shores
 Phragmites Community
 Group
- Cordner Farms Jane Sadler Richards and Doug Richards
- Bob Norris
- · Peter Darbishire
- Joan and John Love
- Ann and Bill Phelan
- Exeter Lions Club
- Patricia Down* and Robert Down
- Lorne Teeple *
- Grand Bend Community Foundation

- Stewardson Dairy
- Boys' & Girls' Club, London (Middlesex ECO Crew)
- Shadyside Farms,
 Paul and Vic Hodgins
- Ray Letheren, Friends of the Bayfield River
- EnvironmentallyConcerned Citizens of Lambton Shores
- · Andy deBoer
- Stephanie Donaldson
- Everet and Joan Van Sligtenhorst
- John MacPherson
- Straw Family
- George Cantrick *
- David McClure
- Brian Arnold
- Fred Dobbs
- · Lions Club of Arkona
- Village of Arkona
- Township of Hibbert

- · Stephen Bright
- · Dinney Funeral Home
- Huron Fish and Game Club
- Garry Palmateer
- Lions Club of Clinton
- Bluewater Recycling Assoc.
- Andrew Dixon
- Ralph and Eleanor Smith
- Elmer Trick
- Armstrong East Cottage Association
- Lambton Wildlife Inc.
- David Ball
- Adelaide Township
- Arnold Westlaken
- Tuckersmith Township
- Van Loon Farms
- Village of Hensall
- Bob Montgomery
- Jim Reeve
- DEL Farms
- Bud Walker
- Bert and Margaret Daynard

- Ausable Anglers Club
- Carfrey Cann
- Keith Connelly
- · John Deeves
- Nancy Glendinning
- Hayter Turkey Farms
- Peter Rombouts
- Bill Thirlwall
- Ausable Nomads
- Dearing Farms
- Huron Soil and Water Conservation District
- · Murray and Ron McRae
- Huron Board of Education
- Thomas Doherty
- Huron Centennial School
- · Jerry Giesen
- Claybird Gun Club
- · Wayne Woods
- Bayfield Anglers Association
- Jay Campbell
- * Asterisk denotes that the award was given posthumously.



The nomination deadline is *Friday, February 15, 2019*. The award is to be presented at the Partner Appreciation Evening held *Thursday, March 21, 2019* at Ironwood Golf Club in Exeter.

Nomination Form

I wish to nominate the following person or organization:

Name of nominee:	
	anization or business):
Their address:	
Postal code:	Telephone:
E-mail (optional):	
Tell us why this p	erson or organization is deserving in 300 words or less:
-	This nomination is being submitted by:
Your name:	
Address:	
Postal code:	Telephone:
E-mail (optional):	

NOTICE OF COLLECTION: Personal information on this form is collected under legal authority of the Conservation Authorities Act for the purposes of reviewing and evaluating, by Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority, of nominations and the work of nominees to create environmental awareness and/or take positive actions for a healthier watershed. This information will also be used to assist conservation authority staff to recognize recipients through awards night and public recognition. Questions regarding this collection can be made to Brian Horner, Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Officer, ABCA, 71108 Morrison Line, RR 3 Exeter, ON NOM 1S5 or phone **519-235-2610** or **1-888-286-2610**.

Please send nomination form to:

Ausable Bayfield Conservation Authority (ABCA) • 71108 Morrison Line • RR 3 Exeter, ON • N0M 1S5

Attention: Tim Cumming, Communications Specialist **E-mail:** tcumming@abca.ca • **Website:** abca.ca

Phone: 519-235-2610 • Toll-free: 1-888-286-2610 • Facsimile: 519.235.1963

