

## The Corporation Of The Municipality Of South Huron By-Law #36-2017

## Being a by-law to appoint a Community Emergency Management Coordinator

**Whereas** the *Emergency Management and Civil Protection Act*, R.S.O. 1990, chapter E.9, requires every municipality to develop and implement an emergency management program and the council to adopt by by-law the emergency management program; and

Whereas Ontario Regulation 380/04 made pursuant to the *Emergency Management and Civil Protection Act*, requires every municipality to designate an employee of the municipality or a member of the council as its Community Emergency Management Program Coordinator who shall co-ordinate the development and implementation of the municipality's emergency management program within the municipality and shall co-ordinate the municipality's emergency management program in so far as possible with the emergency management programs of other municipalities, of ministries of the Ontario government and of organizations outside government that are involved in emergency management; and

**Whereas** the Council of the Municipality of South Huron passed a by-law which established an emergency management program for the protection of public safety, health, the environment, the critical infrastructure and property and to promote economic stability and a disaster resilient community; and

**Whereas** the Council of the Municipality of South Huron wishes to appoint a Community Emergency management Coordinator ("CEMC");

Now therefore be it resolved that the Council of The Corporation of the Municipality of South Huron enacts as follows:

- 1. That David Campbell is hereby appointed the Community Emergency Management Coordinator of the Corporation of the Municipality of South Huron.
- 2. That By-law No. 05-2015 shall be repealed in its entirety.
- 3. That this By-Law shall come into force and take effect upon its passing.

Read a first and second time this 19 <sup>th</sup> da	y June, 2017.
Read a third time and passed this 19 <sup>th</sup> d	ay of June, 2017.
Maureen Cole, Mayor	Genevieve Scharback, Clerk